Baby at 35!

A 35 year old woman’s journey of marriage life, family and having a baby.

Can UTI ( urinary tract infection) cause a miscarriage? July 26, 2009

I know this is an extremely unsexy topic to blog about, but I notice that a lot of readers of my blog come to my site to look for information searching for “UTI during pregnancy” or “UTI cause miscarriage” , so I thought I should just share with you my own experience about UTI and miscarriage. My disclaimer is that I am not a doctor, and can only share from my own experience.

If you read my earlier blog, you will know that I have had a miscarriage in feburary this year. I didn’t realize I was pregnant until I started bleeding alot and actually was on the process of miscarriage. In early jan , I actually had UTI and I didn’t treat it then because I was on holiday in a place where it was hard to find a doctor . So I waited until I was back in civilization to get treated. The normal treatment is antibotics and to drink lots of water.  I was given two weeks of antibotics. It worked of course, the antibotics.

Two weeks  after that , I discovered I was pregnant, and bleeding. The doctor did not tell me why I miscarried. He only said that it is a “chemical pregnancy” and the egg didn’t form well.  It well could be… but it doesn’t help oen least bit what the doctor told me cos I am not sure what else I could have done differently.

But looking back, I think having UTI at the same time as being pregnant didn’t help at all. My own explanation for it is that the body is fighting so hard to fight the infection that it rejects anything foreign ( like a foetus) and expells it out to heal itself.

So what can you do to avoid getting UTI during your pregnancy?

According to health.discovery.com,

  • Drink plenty of fluids — the equivalent of six to eight 8-ounce glasses — every day to flush bacteria out of your urinary system. This does NOT mean eight glasses of water in addition to everything else you drink.
  • Make sure you’re getting vitamin C in your diet, either through food or supplements. Vitamin C, or ascorbic acid, makes your urine acidic, which discourages the growth of bacteria. Drinking cranberry juice may also produce the same effect. Cranberry tablets are a more concentrated form of cranberry juice without the sugar content.
  • Urinate every two to three hours. Keeping urine in your bladder for long periods gives bacteria a place to grow.
  • Avoid using feminine hygiene sprays and scented do “

And if you get recurrent UTI infections ( defined as more than 3 times in a year) please see your doctor or a urologist. They will most likely give you a low dosage of antibotics to be taken the whole time of your pregnancy.

For me I am given nitrofuration to be taken for the first eight months , and then the ninth month to take Keflex. The reason for changing the dosage is because the urologist said that nitrofuration was found to make babies be underweight in the last term.

 

3 Responses to “Can UTI ( urinary tract infection) cause a miscarriage?”

  1. Mi-Mei Khor Says:

    I like cranberry juice – once I bought a bottle and put it in the office fridge. This guy saw it and later he walked over to my desk to ask if I had UTI!!!!!! seesh.

  2. Hopingtohavebaby Says:

    I too had a misscarage last Feburary it broke my heart, still to this day I wonder what went wrong. As I was being checked out because something was wrong they said that I had a uti. I had been getting them frequently off and on since my daughter was born she is now four years old and i have two other kids ages 8 and 6. I’m wondering too if it was because i had a uti. I have been trying for 4 months now to get pregnant but no luck.

  3. ll Says:

    Hi, thanks for telling me your story and I understand a little about your struggle to have another baby. Perhaps you could see a urologist and see what he/she says?? Just my two cents worth….


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.